We All Start Somewhere

These were appropriated from Sweet Memes

What was your first alcoholic drink?

A drink of beer when I was 10.  I asked dad if I could try his.  It was NOT good, but I have developed a taste for beer over the years.  Hello, college!

What was your first job?

I did some work at the place my dad worked.  Some maintenance and light assembly.  Not my 16 year old idea of fun.

What was your first car?

I did not get my license until I was 19.  Seriously!  I drove a 1986 Chevy Cavalier Wagon, in which I also experienced my first speeding ticket and first accident.

What was your first mobile phone?

It was small, not smart, and received and sent calls.  Everything a phone should be.

What is your first proper memory?

I have a memory of being in an examining room, probably for a check up on my eyes, on which I had corrective surgery when I was 2 or 3.  I was probably 3 or 4?  Another early one, which might pre-date that one, is lying on the floor watching Gilligan’s Island and Star Trek.

Who was your first teacher?

My Kindergarten teacher was one of the kindest, but firmest women I have known.  She did not put up with ridiculousness, but she very much cared about us.  It was hard watching her deteriorate in her last days.  She had an oxygen tank and slowly faded.  But she never lost her kindness.

Which fictional character do you wish was real?

             Tyrion Lannister from Game of Thrones.  A profane, witty, bookish, pragmatic, romantic hedonist.

Where did you go on your first ride on an airplane?

My HS had an aerospace science class which I took my junior year.  The end of the semester, we went up in our teacher’s Cessna 172.  I got a little airsick, but it was incredible.

Who was your first best friend?

Troy.  We lived in a kid paradise – there were no less than 20 kids in a four block area in the small town where we lived.  We always had enough for two teams for almost any sport.  And “Kick the Can” was a truly memorable experience!

What was your first detention for?

I tried to forge my parents’ signatures on a letter my third grade teacher sent home about some minor infraction.  Third grade forger.  Yeah, not a successful idea.

What’s your strongest sense?

Strongest how?  They all have various limitations.  I am not a detail-oriented person, so none of my senses is very discerning.  Well, maybe my hearing, but that’s more about musical knowledge and preferences than about strength.  Smell is the strongest sense for memory recall, by far.

Who was your first kiss?

First actual Hollywood-type kiss was with a boy.  Not kidding.  First “dating” kiss was Kari in 8th grade.  We did a lot of that.

What was the first film you remember seeing at the cinema?

Song of the South at the Drive-In Theater that no longer exists.  It’s been replaced by a power station or something.

What’s the largest amount of money you’ve ever won?

I won $1000 on Jeopardy!  Yes.  I was on Jeopardy, and Alex Trebek is awesome.

What’s the largest amount of money you’ve spent in one spree?

Heh.  Some post-Christmas splurge, I imagine.  Probably the year I purchased a flat screen TV and a memory foam mattress for J and myself.

If you had a warning label, what would yours say?

Poke at your own risk.

Have you ever got sweet revenge on anyone?

Probably.  But revenge is never as satisfying as the myriad fantasies of revenge your mind concocts.

Have you ever been to a live concert?

Yes. Rock (The Smithereens, Rush, Metallica, Gear Daddies), local bands, classical, choral, jazz.  Music is good.

Have you ever been to see stand up comedy?

Yes, a couple national acts who were as good as advertised, Second City in Chicago, which has never disappointed, and a few locals.

Have you ever needed stitches?

Probably had them after my eye operation as a kid, but none of which I am aware.  But, I have been in stitches (see previous question).

One thought on “We All Start Somewhere

  1. Did I tell you that Reed does a thing at Second City?

    Is that Troy P?

    You don’t strike me as a successful revenge-r, since your guilt would quash the glee that reveling would bring. *sigh*

    Your answers to these questions make me miss you so much, my friend!

Leave a Reply

