Listen My Children And You Shall Hear

  1. Do you sleep with your closet doors open or closed?
    I am not seven years old, so this does not matter to me.  Up until a month ago the bedroom closet door was broken, so it was open.  Now it is open or closed, dependent upon how lazy I am.
  2. Do you take the shampoos and conditioner bottles from hotel?
    Nah.  Suave is super cheap, so I usually bring my own.  And, have you seen my lack of hair?  I barely even need shampoo.
  3. Do you sleep with your sheets tucked in or out?
    Tucked in at the foot of the bed, but I am warm as a furnace when I sleep, so I usually am uncovered or marginally covered during this weather.
  4. Have you ever stolen a street sign before?
    No, and have not even been tempted.
  5. Do you like to use Post-It® notes?
    I would be lost at work without them!  Do I get paid for plugging them here?
  6. Do you cut out coupons but then never use them?
    More often than I would like to admit.
  7. Would you rather be attacked by a big bear or a swarm of a bees?
    Bees.  The chance of death by a swarm of bees is quite slim, as I am not allergic.  Plus, I can outrun bees.
  8. Do you have freckles?
    No, but I have always liked them on others, in moderation.
  9. Do you always smile for pictures?
    Sometimes. depends on how I feel about my teeth at the time.
  10. What is your biggest pet peeve?
    I am a grammar nazi
  11. Do you ever count your steps when you walk?
    Occasionally, as a zen exercise or if I just want to know how many steps it takes to get to the center of a Tootsie Roll Tootsie Pop.
  12. Have you ever peed in the woods?
    Yeah
  13. What about pooped in the woods?
    nope
  14. Do you ever dance even if there’s no music playing?
    Again, more often than I would like to admit.  There is usually music in my head of some kind.
  15. Do you chew your pens and pencils?
    Blech
  16. How many people have you slept with this week?
    One, same as last week, and the week before, and the week before…
  17. What size is your bed?
    Queen, although there is a King in the basement
  18. What is your Song of the week?
    What’s My Scene by Hoodoo Gurus
  19. Is it OK for guys to wear pink?
    I certainly hope so.
  20. Do you still watch cartoons?
    It’s hard to find classic Looney Toons, but when I do, I watch.  Joyfully.
  21. What’s your least favorite movie?
    Anything involving Transformers. “What the Bleep Do We Know?”  I actually lost brain cells watching this movie.  It made me so incredibly angry that I got suckered into sitting through a propaganda film for Scientology.
  22. Where would you bury hidden treasure if you had some?
    Who says it’s buried?
  23. What do you drink with dinner?
    Coca-Cola
  24. What do you dip a chicken nugget in?
    Buffalo Sauce
  25. What is your favorite food?
    That’s a constantly changing issue.  Right now, it’s the Buffalo Chicken Burrito at BA Burritos.
  26. What movies could you watch over and over and still love?
    The Green Mile, Shawshank Redemption, and The Dirty Dozen
  27. Last person you kissed/kissed you?
    The Gardening Beauty
  28. Were you ever a boy/girl scout?
    No, I could not due to the church I attended, which I now find rather silly.
  29. Would you ever strip or pose nude in a magazine?
    Sure, but my guess is more men than women would be interested in my particular body type.
  30. When was the last time you wrote a letter to someone on paper?
    Years.  I am a TERRIBLE letter writer.  Not that I cannot write or write well, but I lack the motivation to do so.
  31. Can you change the oil on a car?
    Wish I could.  Should probably just do it.
  32. Favorite kind of sandwich?
    Turkey, mayo, mustard, onion
  33. Best thing to eat for breakfast?
    cereal – shredded wheat or Grape Nuts with honey
  34. What is your usual bedtime?
    The time I go to bed
  35. Are you lazy?
    Not so much lazy as a serial procrastinator.  I can put my nose to the grindstone when I feel like it.
  36. When you were a kid, what did you dress up as for Halloween?
    a team member of the 70s TV show SWAT.  I don’t remember any others.  I never liked trick or treating so much, but I love the holiday.  Go figure.
  37. What is your Chinese astrological sign?
    Believe it or not, I’m a cock. (rooster)
  38. How many languages can you speak?
    one. But I have knowledge of three others that would allow me to get by (barely) – German, Russian and Japanese
  39. Do you have any magazine subscriptions?
    No.  But National Geographic is an amazing magazine and HAS to be seen in print.
  40. Which are better, Legos or Lincoln Logs?
    Legos for me
  41. Are you stubborn?
    Yes.  Yes I am.
  42. Who is better, Leno or Letterman?
    Letterman, but that’s like asking if mumps or measles is better.
  43. Do you sing in the car?
    Of course, when I am listening to music.  Sometimes I listen to Public Radio.
  44. Do you sing in the shower?
    Yup
  45. Do you dance in the car?
    I have been known to groove in the car.
  46. Ever used a gun?
    Yes.  I have fired a .22 rifle, a Russian model 1918 rifle, and a .44 pistol.  I am a fair shot. but do not care to ever own one.
  47. Last time you got a portrait taken by a photographer?
    Three years ago 
  48. Do you think musicals are cheesy?
    Some musicals are bad, but generally they are a non-cheesy art form.
  49. Is Christmas stressful?
    Not in the least.  I love the entire season, although it begins (consumerism) far too soon.
  50. Ever eat a pierogi?
    Yes. What a very random question.
  51. Favorite type of fruit pie?
    The wildberry pie at McVey’s, which no longer exists
  52. Ever have a déjà vu feeling?
    No one with a brain has ever NOT experienced it.  The more important question is, what is it?
  53. Take a vitamin daily?
    No
  54. Wear slippers?
    Never – just socks
  55. Wear a bath robe?
    Yeah, once in a while.  Why do you ask?
  56. First concert?
    Metallica
  57. Wal-Mart, Target or Kmart?
    None of the above?  Wal-Mart makes my skin crawl every time I go there.  I just don’t care for Target or KMart.
  58. Nike or Adidas?
    Nike – the longest lasting pair of tennis shoes I ever owned
  59. Cheetos Or Fritos?
    Fritos.  Hands down.
  60. Peanuts or Sunflower seeds?
    peanuts, sunflower seeds are too much work
  61. Can you curl your tongue?
    Yes, but there is not much call for that.
  62. Ever won a spelling bee?
    Yes.  Lost a few. too.
  63. Have you ever cried because you were so happy?
    yes
  64. Own any record albums?
    Not LPs or 45s or 78s.  I do own albums on CD.
  65. Own a record player?
    No reason to own one if I don’t have them.
  66. Regularly burn incense?
    Blech
  67. Ever been in love?
    Not very insightful questions here.  Yes.  But so what?
  68. Tea or coffee?
    tea
  69. Sugar cookies or snickerdoodles?
    snickerdoodles
  70. Can you swim well?
    not as well as I used to
  71. Can you hold your breath without holding your nose?
    yes
  72. Are you patient?
    Dependent upon what situation arises
  73. Ever won a contest?
    Yes.  Does making it onto Jeopardy count?
  74. Which are better, black or green olives?
    Olives?  They are the devil.
  75. Can you knit or crochet?
    Nope
  76. Best room for a fireplace?
    The backyard, actually
  77. Who was your HS crush?
    Everything in HS is a crush.
  78. Do you cry and throw a fit until you get your own way?
    I am not a child.  I throw fits. but they are private and for my own benefit.
  79. Do you miss anyone right now?
    I just saw her, but I am already craving more time with the Irish Bird Assassin.   And strangely, I am missing The Storyteller.  But that’s a more physical thing.
7 thoughts on “Listen My Children And You Shall Hear

  1. I miss you, too. As always, I love how you think about things in such a different way than I do. Your brain is so interesting to me! #18 made me gasp and my eyes fill, and #77, particularly, is wonderful.

    • The thing I love about these are the little mundane things I learn about you. To me, those are important because they open more doors! For me, it was your answer to #1 especially.

      • Like a long, wandering conversation over good beer & pizza, right? I do enjoy how we don’t very often stick close to the topic at hand.
        Your answer to #48 surprised me – you’ve clearly never heard me sing “Old Man River”! – and your response to #51 made me groan aloud. You do know about my history there, right?

      • Exactly like that! Wide ranging topics are why I always look forward to your visits. Oh yes, I know of your history, but I did always like the food there. Denny Schrandt and I frequented that establishment and always had the wildberry pie and ice cream.

  2. Denny was in my wedding. He would, at the end of my tenure there, not come in at all if he didn’t see my car – he loved my bacon cheeseburgers that much. !
    (Aside: I broke a nail in the car today. Another strike against me as a date-worthy female.)
    Hugs!

      • He sang Sunrise, Sunset from Fiddler on the Roof in the wedding.

        re: the lack of Amy-worthy men, it doesn’t help that they’re all being compared to the unattainable One-Strike-and-You’re-Out Michael, eh? 😉

Leave a Reply

