The Zen of Lawn Mowing

The patterns. The back and forth. Seeing progress with every pass of the blades. Yes, mowing the lawn has a way of allowing one to become centered. The time I spend mowing the lawn can be spent in two ways. I can focus completely on what I am doing and allow my mind to simply focus and release all it’s cares. Or, I can use that time to think, ruminate and develop ideas. It all depends upon the mood, the day and the weather.

Some days it is very easy to let go. Just drift and allow all kinds of ideas to slip in and out. Other days, it seems so natural to focus like a laser on what I am doing: the length of my steps, my breathing, the angle of the mower, the contour of the yard.

Nothing is mundane unless you choose to disengage your mind.

Leave a Reply

