The Timeless Machine

No matter how much we wish we could forget the past, and the mistakes we made there, it sometimes has a way of coming around to confront you, for one reason or another. In this case it was a warning of sorts, a Dickensian visit from Marley’s ghost: change your ways or suffer the consequences.

For me, it is avoiding old, comfortable habits and resisting the siren’s call of impulse. Not an easy thing to do for a man used to succumbing to temptation on a regular basis. Oh, how I admire the spartan ways of those who more or less successfully control their appetites. The idea of calling upon that kind of reserve of will power is daunting to say the least.

No time like the present to start living for the future.

2 thoughts on “The Timeless Machine

  1. I hear you. I’m not sure to what exactly this refers, but it resonates. Over the past week, I’ve given a lot of thought to The Way I Live My Life, and What’s Really Important, and Stuff I Wish I Wasn’t Doing That Seems Like A Good Idea At the Time But I Later Realize Was Just a Waste (or worse). If it all ended today, would I be more proud, or filled with regret? Would I wish I had a few more minutes to do exactly what I’d been doing, or instead to Un-Do what I’d done?

    You said it just right: no time like the present to start living for the future.

    • This started as a throw away emotional vent, but I ran with it and, re-reading it, I rather like it. Just facing some needed changes for health – physical and mental. It always makes my day when someone connects to what I write and finds ways for it to resonate with them. Makes writing seem all the more worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

