Spring to Summer

Another roll of questions borrowed from this fascinating blog:

61. Ocean or pool?

There are nothing but positive memories for me of swimming in pools.  The smell of a chlorinated pool makes me feel like a kid again.

62. Fridays or Ruby Tuesdays?

Two of the least healthy places to eat on the planet.  While I am not historically known for my healthy ways, I can happily say that I have not visited a TGIF for quite a few months, and I have never partaken of Ruby Tuesdays.

63. Did you want to go to college?

College was a dreamland full of independence and cool people and odd jobs and stimulating experiences and alcohol… oh, the alcohol… thirteen years well spent, more or less.

64. What did you [do] last time at a mall?

A mall?  Hmmm… it’s been a surprisingly long time since I have been mall-bound, and I believe the last time was the MOA. Window shopping and my first excursion to an Ikea, which was located directly across the street.  I purchased cork coasters.

65. Which close friend have you known the longest?

The Elegant One and the Jewelry Queen since 1994ish.  The Irish Bird Assassin since high school, but we finally became close friends recently.  The Judgmental One since 1989. The Choir Director since 1989.

66. Why do you like the music you do?

I just like the things I like.  Usually my tastes run slightly off the beaten path.  Nothing grates me quite like music that sounds soul-less or unchallenging.  Most modern country and almost everything that is heard on corporate owned Top 40 stations fits that description. And hey, Clear Channel, if you own it, I guarantee the music you play is nowhere near “alternative”, you greedy, ignorant, corporate vampires.

67. Do you read much?

More than I did before, not nearly enough as is good for my soul.

68. Favorite country?

Only been to one, and I live here.  However, I would like to visit England, France, Germany, Switzerland and Italy.  Those are all places that have either stimulated my imagination or to which I have deep ancestral roots, or simply intrigue me.  Japan would be an interesting place to experience.

69. What is something you wish you were better at?

Doing things sooner rather than later.

70. What’s your favorite album/CD?

Husker Du “Warehouse: Songs and Stories”  So many memories and so much history in those songs.  Plus, brilliant songwriting.

71. What’s a good dinner order?

Huh what?  I imagine a good dinner order is whatever you feel most hungry for at the time.  I’m not enough a food snob to discern a good order from a poor one.

72. Planes or boats?

For travel, planes are nice.  For entertainment or relaxation, a boat works.  This questions seems as relevant as apples or oranges.

73. One rumor that’s been spread about you:

He’s a pushover.  Yes.  I am.

74. Who is your newest friend?

The Storyteller.  And a pretty intriguing one at that.

75. Have you ever sat on a rooftop?

You know… I have.  But not for some time.  Like decades.

76. Was your last text useful?

Not in the least, even if you were the intended recipient: “Of course, you probably have the image of me sitting here smiling and drooling like an idiot.  I promise you, it’s not that creepy. LOL”

77. Favorite soda?

Coca Cola.  Pepsi works in a pinch, but Coke is my preferred carbonated beverage.

78. Do you like yourself?

Most of the time.  I rely on self-deprecation to power my sense of humor, so sometimes people think I am too self-critical.  I am self-critical, but I take that seriously as a type of self-improvement.  I’m not as strong-willed as I’d like, but my kindness and optimism make me happy.

79. The worst weather: Hot or cold?

Hot and humid is unbearable for me.  I can power through it if required, but it is far easier for me to function and face a day of 40 below weather than it is to stare 90 degrees and 80% humidity in the face.

80. Do you play an instrument?

My voice, and YES, it is an instrument!

81. What’s your favorite action movie?

The Matrix has to be right up near the top.  But for simple, mindless action fun, I’ll take Gone in 60 Seconds or Chronicles of Riddick or Hellboy II.

82. Have (or are) you ever been involved someone much older than you?

Had a serious infatuation with someone who was nearly seven years older than I.  Otherwise, no.  Although, ladies 55 and older always have seemed to like me.

83. Do you believe in lust at first sight?

Is there any other way in which lust operates?  That’s a question that pretty much answers itself in the asking.

84. Favorite type of venomous snake?

I’d be quite content if nature did not require snakes of any kind.  “Favorite” has no business in the same question with the words “venomous snake”.  Would rather you asked my favorite way to have bamboo driven under my fingernails.

85. Do you drink alcohol?

Yes.  Not often, but when I do, I drink what is readily available, which usually means inexpensive beer.  Although, I do have a Framboise Lambic chilling in my refrigerator as we speak. Hmmm…

86. If you wanted to talk to someone who’d lift your spirits, who’d you call?

My little sister.  She’s one of the most hilarious people I know.

87. What do you wear to feel sexy?

I highly doubt the term “sexy” and I have appeared anywhere near together in the same thought.  In fact, I’d wager that I am the anti-sexy.  Besides, why define myself by what I am wearing?

88. Do you like to learn?

Thirteen years in college.  I’d say I was moderately addicted to learning.

89. Have you ever been hit on by someone who really overestimated their attractiveness?

Nope.  I am usually the one taking a swing and a miss at a woman severely out of my league.  Nothing ventured…

90. Where did you last go on vacation?

I guess my March excursion to LA to appear on a game show would qualify as my last vacation.

91. Dallas (as in J.R. & Bobby) returns this week. What film or TV series would you loved to be resurrected?

There are few things I find more bewilderingly unimaginative as rehashing old series and movies,  unless they are complete re-boots.  I rather enjoyed the JJ Abrams re-boot of Star Trek.  I might enjoy seeing one of the classic Western series re-booted… perhaps a completely re-vamped Gunsmoke?  There has been a dearth of quality Westerns for a long, long time.

92. Explain your karma beliefs.

Do you reap what you sow?  Maybe.  Maybe not.  Life is not a set series of patterns or cycles so much as a string of events that have threads that connect them.  I do believe that some people have stunning bad luck, while others seem to have luck in excess.  And almost always it’s for no reason at all.  Not every criminal faces justice and not every innocent finds reward.  As humans, we like to uncover patterns, but for the most part, karma is  just the human brain trying to wrap itself around the inconceivable.

93. When do you think that you have a hard life?

I have had an easy life.  Terribly easy.  I have never gone hungry, or been physically or mentally incapacitated.  It’s not karma, it’s just…. what it is.

94. Favorite comic strip?

Tie: Calvin and Hobbes and Bloom County.

95. Have you ever broken a heart?

Certainly.  Sadly.  We all have.

96. Should pot be legalized?

I don’t see any evidence that it should not be legal.  If alcohol is legal, how can we logically maintain that THC should be illegal?  But, I still wouldn’t use it.  Just not my thing.

97. Have you ever gone skinny dipping with someone that you shouldn’t have?

Never gone skinny dipping.  Naked hot tubbing is another story for another time.

98. What do you do when you’re down?

Wallow.  Simple, straight-forward and honest wallowing.

99. Last time you were really angry?

A few days ago.  An imagined slight led to some angry outbursts, which were primarily directed at fellow automobilists.

100. What is your favorite flavor in general?

Chocolate. I’d take chocolate almost any day of the week.  Otherwise, spicy.

3 thoughts on “Spring to Summer

  1. OK, this is just silly–we’ve been dancing past each other in Amy’s comments page for months, and I’ve just discovered you’ve linked to my memes (which is fine). So… Hi! My name is Cat. I work in a library. I’m more-than-slightly crazy. And Amy’s simply the best, isn’t she?

    • Hello Cat!! Brian here. You are not even slightly crazy, you simply have a unique and wonderful view of your world. And yes, Amy IS simply the best! 🙂 And thanks for the ok to link to you… sorry, I should have asked for the ok before now!

Leave a Reply

