Something Borrowed

I am commandeering the Irish Bird Assassin’s tactic of borrowing a list of questions from this blog.  Why?  Because sometimes answering questions can be interesting!

1. What is the first movie you remember watching in a theater?

Raggedy Ann and Andy: A Musical Adventure.  I remember it because my little sister was not allowed to go with us.  As kids, she was the constant trouble-maker, I was the goody-two-shoes.  I remember her sitting, sad-faced, on the swingset in front of the house on Collegeview as we drove away.  It was the first time I felt smug, as she had terrorized me endlessly throughout our childhood, and it was nice to see some justice.  Looking back at the movie, she didn’t miss much.  (The next film I remember seeing in the theater was Star Wars, so things got better) Amazing what our parents sat through for our benefit.  Ironically, little sister grew up to be the responsible one, and I am the loose cannon.  Go figure.

2. Was the first phone you ever used a rotary or push-button style phone?

I’m pretty sure it was rotary.  And it had googly eyes that went up and down when you pulled it along on the floor.  A phone with wheels and a face… what a great childhood I had!  Oh wait, you meant…

3. Was the first car you owned new or used?

Used.  A 1986 Chevrolet Cavalier wagon.  Excellent little car that also took part in my first car accident.  There is a horrible, angled intersection across a divided highway in my hometown.  I t-boned another car while trying to cross the highway.  My little sister was in the car, and this being the days of Aqua Net, I blamed her big hair for not seeing the other car.  The Cavalier’s front bumper rode in the back of the wagon for a couple weeks before repairs could be made.

4. When did you first think you knew for certain what you wanted to do when you grew up?

How many different things did I “seriously” want to be? In fifth grade, I was determined enough to become an oceanographer that I wrote a letter to the Scripps Institute in La Jolla, CA.  I don’t think they ever wrote back…  I wanted to be a truck driver for a while.  But, in high school, I finally realized I wanted to teach.  Turns out what I really wanted to do was remain in academia for as long as humanly possible.  Thirteen years after HS graduation, I finally finished my bachelor’s degree in music (had started out as a Social Studies Teaching major), and taught for three years.  Now, I am an Office Administrator.  Yup.

5. How old were you the first time you set foot on an airplane?

In High School, we had a class called Aerospace Science, which culminated in a ride in a Cessna 172.  I got airsick at first, until they popped open the windows.  Then it was awesome!  Our teacher took us into a steep climb that exerted enough g-force to pin us to our seats and then stalled out to give us a feeling of near-weightlessness. Better than a roller coaster!

6. What’s the first book that you read and really enjoyed?

I started reading before I started school.  The books I really remember enjoying the most were “Journey Cake, Ho!“, “Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel“, “Be Nice to Spiders“, “The Crows of Pearblossom” and “Lyle, Lyle Crocodile“.  The first non-picture book I really loved was “Runaway Ralph“.

2 thoughts on “Something Borrowed

  1. OK, this made me laugh in about 10 different spots. I also figured out which intersection you’re talking about, if it’s close to the original Mickey-D’s?

    Mike Mulligan is awesome, and Runaway Ralph is my all-time favorite. :))

    • Yes! That’s the intersection! I still avoid it at all costs.

      It was so great to go back and think of all those great books. Actually, I remember being in an accelerated reading program in Elementary School and it was called Great Books. Our teacher read “Where the Red Fern Grows” to us in 4th grade. Saddest. Book. Ever. And I read “Jonathan Livingston Seagull” in 4th grade, too. Oh, oh, oh… I just thought of another book I adored… “Island of the Blue Dolphins”!

Leave a Reply

