Open Letter to My Mom

Hi Mom,

Do you remember the windstorm that hit when we were at Lakeview Drive Inn?  I buried my head in your lap because I was so scared we would blow away in the wind, but we didn’t.  You were the safe place.

Did you know that my favorite memory from Fiddler on the Roof is that I made you cry?  That’s when I knew that I was blessed with the talent to act, because you don”t cry at just any old thing.  The fact that what you saw on stage moved you really moved me.

Did you know there are few things I enjoy more than laughing with you?  You showed me just how much fun a person can have and that being silly is awesome.

Do you know how much it meant to me that you were tough on me when I screwed things up with J?  I needed that more than you know, and that combination of tough love and comforting love changed the course of my life for the better.

Do you know how proud I am that you took care of Mimi and Pa  when they needed you?  That was such a  huge responsibility and, even when it was hard, you found the strength to do what was best for them.

Mom, you have been such a central part of my life and have made such an impact on who I am as a person.  I love you!

Leave a Reply

