Welcome Distractions

I woke up and opened my eyes to the morning,

And I thought about how you must already be headed to work.

I was listening to the radio today and a song came on we have never heard together,

But I thought of you when I heard it because it sounded like something you’d like.

I was eating lunch and enjoying the tastes and textures of food we have never shared,

And I thought about having lunch with you sometime.

I was digging on my desk trying to find something amidst the mess,

And I thought about your desk and how you told me it was covered with work.

I was driving home on the bridge over the frozen river,

And I thought about how much you love both snow and the water.

I drove past your house like I do every day on my way in and out of town,

And I hoped you didn’t have to work late.

I went to the store to pick up a few things,

And I thought about the last time we shopped together searching for Hawaiian bread.

I curled up in my blankets, ready to sleep,

And I thought about you curled up in your fleece sheets.

I wrote a little poem about how everything makes me think of you,

And I wondered what you would think if you ever saw it.

This entry was posted in Poetry by bgm1969. Bookmark the permalink.

About bgm1969

This blog is updated by a guy who’s overweight, silly, Liberal, spiritual rather than religious, infatuated with beauty and grace, musically blessed, and always changing.

Leave a Reply

