A Day to Renew

Ah, what a difference a day makes.  Family time – real, deep, reflective family time – can be a salve for many things.  Our family has weathered its share of trials and tribulations, but we have never splintered.  We have strained and pulled and stretched our relationships with each other to certain limits, but have always, ALWAYS, come together when necessary.  I credit my older sister for playing an instrumental part in the renewal of my faith, and I credit my younger sister for being there every time I need a pep talk.  And my parents, while not perfect, have been wonderful and positive examples to us of how to care for each other.

My younger sister and I used to be oil and water.  In our twenties, it was common that if we were  in the same room for any length of time, we began chafing on each other, with the result being that I usually stormed out of the room in a huff.  But over time, we have found far more common ground with each other.  We have grown much closer over this past year.  Her steadfastness and kindness have helped me navigate my emotional minefield over the past two years.  And tonight it hit me how very similar we actually are.  We both have similar issues and approach them in surprisingly similar ways.  That was a very unexpected, but quite welcome, revelation.

I have always respected the strength of my older sister, although she would never characterize herself as strong.  She has raised two incredibly wonderful children, who have become two very incredible adults.  My niece and nephew have lived my dreams of travel twice over – living in Mexico City and India, traveling Europe and the US.  And they are much better human beings for those experiences.  So, when my sister insisted that I renew my faith and find a better path, I decided that was the right thing to do.  I can’t thank her enough for that guidance.

And today, we came together and laughed and reminisced and shared our passions.  And it was glorious.  And it gave me much needed perspective about anything I am encountering.  I love them beyond words.

One thought on “A Day to Renew

Leave a Reply

