Strange Days, Indeed

Most peculiar.

On the one hand, it has been a day of relative happiness.  The door handles on my car are finally fixed.  I no longer have to roll down the window in order to exit the vehicle.  My life has been full of music lately, much to my unending  joy.  Received a very heartwarming message via voicemail that made me smile inside and out.

But then I received news that one of my dearest friends lost her eldest brother in a tragic accident.  He was a very intelligent, musical, and kind man who loved his family very much.  My heart breaks for my friend and her family, which is a family full of music and kindness and laughter.   She has been a true and wonderful friend to me through the years and I treasure her friendship, intelligence and laughter, so I hope I can be there when she needs.

Reflection is important.  And remembering what is important is vital.  I know I will be hugging and holding my loved ones a little tighter and a little closer.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Strange Days, Indeed

  1. A sad reminder – but a good one – of what’s really important. And, on that note: take care of yourself, mister. There are a lot of people who care about you but might not be remembering to say so. xo

  2. Thank you so much for your kindness. In truth, things go well here. I hope you are doing well. I do think of you often and care very much that life is treating you reasonably. Hmmm… apparently I have been reading a little too much of the John Adams bio lately. I do adore the language of the letters he and Abigail wrote to each other.

    But seriously, I hope you are doing great and you take care of yourself as well!

  3. Bah! One cannot read too much of the old language; taking greater care in our writing might lead to behaving with more care towards each other, hmm? Although, as Douglas Adams wrote in ‘The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul’, “Words used carelessly, as if they did not matter in any serious way, often allowed otherwise well-guarded truths to seep through.” Such is the charm (and danger) of Facebook. 🙂

Leave a Reply

