Intensity II

This particular free verse is a little embarrassing as it is not at all subtle and revels in unbridled passion.  But I am intent on sharing myself here.

It is not convenient to feel this way.

But neither is it wrong to feel this way.

I can no more convince my heart not to beat for you

As I can change the winds or command the world to stop turning.

But what to do with that reality?

Spend it in a fruitless attempt to convince your heart,

Or live resigned with the knowledge

That it never will beat for me?

All the music in my life is your composition.

All the beauty, joy, sadness, longing and love is viewed

Through the prism of you.

When you are not near, there is an anguish that cannot be spoken.

When you are within sight, the joy is unsurpassed.

You ignite, inspire, inflame and mesmerize.

You comfort, calm, nurture and balance.

It is not mere beauty that drives my desire,

Though your beauty is overwhelming.

It is the complete spectrum of you that melts every part of me

And causes my soul to stir restlessly.

From your honest smile to your endless compassion.

From the dancing light in your eyes to your contagious and heartfelt laugh.

From your ability to be elegant to your ability to be accessible.

You drive my dreams.

This longing is painful and heartbreaking and devastating.

It feeds on my soul.

I cannot escape it.

This entry was posted in Poetry by bgm1969. Bookmark the permalink.

About bgm1969

This blog is updated by a guy who’s overweight, silly, Liberal, spiritual rather than religious, infatuated with beauty and grace, musically blessed, and always changing.

Leave a Reply

