Music Renews

Ah, music.  Tonight I get to re-engage with a group which has been on hiatus for a year.  It’s a wonderful small group of singers that focuses on music of the Middle Ages and Renaissance.  These just happen to be my favorite periods for music.  For those unversed in the glories and beauties of this kind of music, I offer the following as examples of what kind of music our group performs:

This is the Agnus Dei from the Messe de Nostre Dame by Guillaume de Machaut (1300-1377).  While it may sound simple and open,music from the Middle Ages is actually quite challenging to sing well.  I am convinced that the fun for me in singing this music is in the challenge of singing it well.

This is Ave Verum Corpus by William Byrd (1543-1623), a personal favorite of mine both to hear and perform.

I hope you enjoy these pieces as much as I do and as much as the performers enjoy singing them.  I will keep you all posted on how rehearsals are progressing!

Leave a Reply

