Of Belt Loops and Body Fat

A belt is my constant companion.  I always wear a belt whenever I wear pants that have belt loops.  The reason is that I usually buy my pants slightly oversize, because I enjoy being comfortable.  The skinny jeans movement just makes me shake my head.  Might as well call them anti-jeans.

Well, tonight was one of the handful of times I ventured out without a belt. I made a run to the local convenience store after taking my post-walk shower, and could not be bothered to leather up.  Something interesting happened – I kept having to pull up my jeans because they were sliding WAY down.  In fact, had I not stopped them, they would have ended up on the floor.  Now, this may seem embarrassing to some, but to me it was a revelation.  These jeans are 44×30 (waist x inseam).  This means that my modest efforts to lose weight have resulted in a slight loss of inches, manifesting in nearly lewd and lascivious behavior in a Kwik Trip.

I was overjoyed.  This is the first real tangible evidence that the small changes I have made over the past month are having a cumulative positive effect.  It’s nice to find that second wind of motivation, and it could not have come at a better time.  The change of seasons is always a tough time to maintain a regular exercise schedule.  The cool weather and shorter days mean that an early morning walk begins in near darkness and a late afternoon walk ends in near darkness.  So, now I am considering a membership at the local YMCA.  I like walks in the snow, but I fear the next tumble on ice may result in a broken bone or two, and I would rather maintain my unblemished record in that department.  Besides, the prospect of being able to swim during the winter is not unpleasant.

In any case, yay for healthy changes!!

Leave a Reply

