Aesthetics

Please stand off to the side a bit

So that I may recover my senses

Which have been so unfailingly buffeted

By all that radiates from you.

 

Pull the corners of your mouth down

And allow me to catch my breath again

From the onslaught of your smile.

 

Roll your hands in white gauze

And cover your tanned shoulders

So that my heart may beat steadily

Free of the electric pulse of your touch.

 

Pull back your hair

And stand far from me

So that I may meditate

Without your essence filling my soul.

 

And though I have longed to kiss you

I doubt my being could bear

The kindness of your heart

Poured onto me.

 

Cease the ease of your laughter

So that mere music

May once again

Regain it’s allure.

 

Oh, please ignore this.

For nothing fills me like you –

Nothing sates my appetites for beauty and art

And love and passion and hope

Like three small moments

Held within your presence.

 

This entry was posted in Poetry by bgm1969. Bookmark the permalink.

About bgm1969

This blog is updated by a guy who’s overweight, silly, Liberal, spiritual rather than religious, infatuated with beauty and grace, musically blessed, and always changing.

Leave a Reply

