A Terrace in the Garden

Standing on the edge of the step

Filled with the heady aroma of summer

Your face appeared from out of a dream

And slipped inside my memory –

Captured in a portrait hung inside a small room

Just for me to gaze upon.

A green slope of grass stretched before me

As I laid out the knit blanket

Set out the brie and bread

Poured the sweet white wine for our small feast

And bit on my lip anticipating you.

If the words could spring forth like they should

They would shower upon you, refresh you.

Beauty like yours leaves me speechless, my fountain dry,

Searching for just the perfect combination of sounds and thoughts

To sear my awe upon your heart;

To capture and hold a lightning-bright moment

With you and never let go.

 

This entry was posted in Poetry by bgm1969. Bookmark the permalink.

About bgm1969

This blog is updated by a guy who’s overweight, silly, Liberal, spiritual rather than religious, infatuated with beauty and grace, musically blessed, and always changing.

Leave a Reply

